Explore the history, culture, people and beautiful landscapes of Vietnam on the 63Stravel travel app
Download the 63stravel app
Soc Trang is known as the land of temples and festivals. That is why Soc Trang has many monuments and tourist attractions associated with worship facilities and religious beliefs bearing unique national cultural imprints such as: Bat Pagoda, Kh'leang Pagoda or Chua pagoda. Kieu Cup... Among these unique relics, it is impossible not to mention Buu Son Tu, which Buddhists and tourists near and far are used to calling Clay Pagoda. But why do people call it Clay Pagoda? It is also this name that partly attracts a large number of tourists coming here to visit and study.
Former President Tran Duc Luong (middle man) visits Dat Set Pagoda; Photo: Nguyen Dung
Dat Set Pagoda is located at No. 286, Ton Duc Thang Street, in cluster 1, ward 5, Soc Trang city, Soc Trang province. The West Gate faces Ton Duc Thang Street, the front of the pagoda faces to the East, the total area of Dat Set Pagoda is only about 2,000m2 wide, but cool. The main hall has a small space but is arranged in harmony. The inner palace is the convergence of many unique cultural and artistic features. In front of the pagoda is a statue of Quan The Am Buddha, a pedestal of Maitreya Buddha, a set of Buddha statues giving a sermon including 05 Kieu Tran Nhu, Bac De, Thap Luc, Mahanam and Evil Be, small shrines worshiping Mr. Ong Ta, the altar of Thien Phu, the Mother of God. To the left of the pagoda is the grave of artist Ngo Kim Tong and his family. Clay Pagoda was founded by the Ngo family (Mr. Ngo Kim Dinh 1844 - 1947 and his wife Do Thi Ngoc 1880 - 1975) more than 200 years ago to practice at home, so the pagoda has no teachings and no monks. Currently, the Clay Pagoda is guided and managed by the family.
Visitors listen to explanations at Buu Son Tu; Photo: Tan Trang
Clay Pagoda (Buu Son Tu) is one of the religious belief establishments belonging to the organizational system of Dao Buu Son Ky Huong, founded by Mr. Doan Minh Huyen (1807 - 1856) in 1849, at Ong Dao's temple. Kien, now Tay An Co Tu (Sam Chau Doc mountain), belongs to Long Kien commune, Cho Moi district, An Giang province today. The teaching of the Buu Son Ky Huong Dao is "Learning from Buddha and being a monk", taking the return of the "Four Great Trong An" as the root (kindness of ancestors, parents, favor of the country, grace of the three treasures, favor of fellow human beings), especially Special emphasis was placed on the country's grace to rally the patriotic force and the working people to stand up against the French colonialists' invasion.
The Lotus Court is recognized by Vietnamese discipline as a clay treasure
Dat Set Pagoda has a simple architecture, but this ancient temple contains many unique cultural and artistic values, created by the talented hands of artist Ngo Kim Tong. It is nearly 2,000 large and small Buddha statues, along with animals and objects of worship that were made of clay by artist Ngo Kim Tong for 42 years (from 1929 to 1970). His clay art works are a process of hard work and art, with a creative mind and boundless heart towards Buddha. He has left for posterity an extremely rare treasure of cultural heritage that future generations need to cherish, preserve and promote.
The birth of these primitive clay works was greatly influenced by the background of artist Ngo Kim Tong. According to Mr. Ngo Kim Quang, I call artisan Ngo Kim Tong by his uncle, current Deputy Manager of the Management Board of Dat Set Pagoda tourist attraction: Mr. Ngo Kim Tong was born in 1909, in a poor but filial family. The religion belongs to Nham Lang village, Nhieu Khanh canton (now within ward 5, Soc Trang city). Ngo Kim Tong's parents are lay monks, inheriting the third generation of the Ngo family in Soc Trang. Mr. Ngo Kim Tong has 08 siblings (04 boys, 04 girls), he is the fourth child, named after the Southerners as Uncle Nam Tong. From a young age, he had an inclination to be passionate about art from a very early age, but due to his poor family and constant illness, he only finished third grade and then quit. His father, Ngo Kim Dinh, saw that his son was sick and sick, so he brought him to live in the temple to take care of medicine and chant and recite Buddha's name. After a while, the condition improved and gradually stopped altogether. At the age of 18, seeing that his parents were old and weak, and his family had no land, he went to Phu Huu commune, Long Phu district, Soc Trang province, and rented 02 public lands for cultivation. During the day he plowed the ground to plant potatoes, at night he read sutras and recited Buddha's name.
Luc Long Dang made of clay
Every harvest season, he rowed a boat to carry potatoes to Soc Trang market to sell. Due to overwork, he fainted in a shack in Phu Huu. Or believe, parents brought back, because there was no money to buy medicine, so they set up an incense table at the temple, prayed to the Buddhas of the ten directions and Quan Am to protect and sustain them, for 3 days and 3 nights. At this time, his expression was gone, his eyes were wide. On the third day, he suddenly regained consciousness and was completely healthy. After that death, he vowed to live a vegetarian diet, recite the Buddha's name, do many good deeds, and contribute merit to repay the Buddha for saving his life.
In 1929, at that time, when Mr. Tong was 20 years old, his father fell seriously ill and died, leaving only his mother. Due to the poverty situation, the statues in the temple are only pictures, primitive wooden and paper Buddha statues, damaged, rotten but no money for new repairs. One night, he dreamed that the Buddha said: "Go to the west, about 1,000m from the temple, face to the east, dig for clay to make Buddha statues and worship." When he woke up from his dream, the very next day, he followed the Buddha's teachings. When he dug out the clay to carry, he first let it dry, put it in a mortar and pounded the rice until it was finely ground, then removed all the impurities. impurities such as rice roots, grass roots, using "O Duoc" glue and incense powder, 03 substances combined and then kneaded for many hours to make the soil very flexible, along with imagination and gifted hands, he just work while tinkering with self-study, studying from Buddhist scriptures, being persistent and meticulous in each work. After many years of perseverance and hard work, he created many Buddha statues, worshiping objects, decorations and famous animals like today.
The main hall of the Clay Pagoda is not very large, the roof of the pagoda is supported by 24 columns, each column is decorated with a dragon shape winding with clay from the base to the dome. Although the inner hall of the ancient temple is not wide, it is decorated with many Buddha statues, arranged in order. The most solemn space is dedicated to "Tac Phuong Buddha", crafted by artist Ngo Kim Tong from the beginning of 1929, these are his first works, including three floors of Buddhas, Buddhas and Confucius, Lao Tzu. The first floor includes the Buddhas Amitabha, Avalokitesvara and Dai The Chi. The second floor consists of the original masters Shakyamuni, Ananda, Kassapa, Confucius, Lao Tzu, Manjushri, and Master Loi. The third floor is Quan Yin, Chuan De, Ksitigarbha, Buddha's mother and Prince Siddhartha... This arrangement has expressed the thought of "Three teachings of the same origin", including: "Confucianism, Buddha, Laotian". "of the founder of the temple.
Among the thousands of Buddha statues, worshiping objects and famous animals in the pagoda, especially "Da Bao Tower and Bao Toa Lien Hoa", it can be said that these are two top art works created by artist Ngo Kim Tong. Built in early 1939. Da Bao Tower consists of 13 floors, about 04m high of clay material, but has passed for nearly a century without being tilted, each floor has 16 doors, each door has a seated Buddha, Thus, the tower has 208 gates and 208 Buddhas, 156 embossed dragons running along the tiled roof and supporting the foot of the tower. This Da Bao tower was completed in 6 months and 1 day, with thousands of details meticulously made of clay, further confirming the talented hands of artist Ngo Kim Tong.
Next to the Da Bao Tower is the Lotus Temple. This Bao Toa was built by artist Ngo Kim Tong in mid-1939, after the completion of Da Bao Tower, is a lotus, consisting of 1,000 lotus petals, each lotus petal has a small Buddha sitting in meditation. Below the lotus platform are the Ba Quai, the Four Dai Thien Vuong, and the Thien Tien, including 08 palaces: Can-Kham-Can-Chan-Ton-Ly Khon-Doai, each palace has 02 fairies standing in service.
In addition, artist Ngo Kim Tong also molded a number of other very elaborate and meticulous works, which are still intact and have many unique artistic values such as: 03 large incense sticks, each 2m high, about 0.2m in diameter, about 50kg in weight, made of incense powder and O Duoc glue, decorated with a winding dragon and embossed with 04 Chinese characters; 03 large peaks, 2.5m high, the remaining 2 peaks are 1.5m high and 07 small incense burners; A giant "Luc Long Dang" lamp hangs from the ceiling in the center of the main hall. This lamp is the last work of artist Ngo Kim Tong. The Luc Long Dang lamp consists of 03 peaks with 06 large curved dragons, tails together, heads jutting out in all directions. The lampstand is a stylized lotus that supports six dragons. The Luc Long Dang lamp is made entirely of clay with thousands of thousands of delicate detailed patterns, and has a heavy weight, yet hanging for decades has not changed.
Besides, artist Ngo Kim Tong also molded 04 large diaphragms, each measuring about 02m x 04m, with many very sophisticated decorative motifs. The first horizontal phoenix is hung on the shrine of "Ten Phuong Buddha", consisting of 03 large quadrilaterals assembled to form a stylized open book, surrounded by 02 large dragons winding "Song Long adoring Buddha". , 02 greeting boards in Chinese characters on both sides, decorated with 01 large lotus flower at the bottom, on the background of a mural decorated with bamboo, apricot blossom, peach blossom and stylized lotus flower, on 03 large pieces. The pagoda's name is well-known with 03 large Chinese characters "Buu Son Tu", which is beautifully painted with gilded lacquer; The second diaphragm is hung on the shrine of "Three Treasures", called "Nine Five Dragons adoring Buddha", on this painting there are 09 small dragons winding hidden in the clouds, forming the image of "Crescent Moon" ”, on the embossed background with 07 Chinese characters and decorated with stylized rattan, bamboo and lotus flowers, painted with gilded lipstick. The third and fourth diaphragms are hung on the shrine "Dieu Tri Kim Mau and Jade Emperor", decorated with the same decoration, including 02 large winding dragons "Song Long Adoring Buddha" embracing the word-shaped diaphragm. Japanese is decorated in a glass cage, inside embossed with 04 Chinese characters.
Seeing these works, most of the tourists who come to visit think that it is the product of a statue maker, a professional sculptor, not a person who just finished the third grade of the village school, without understanding. nothing about art and have never been to art school before, but can create Buddha statues, beasts with cubes, with extremely sophisticated textures. Because of his talented and unique sculpture of Buddha, he was praised by the world that he had "Buddha's advice".
In 1953, in order to make offerings to the Buddhas of the ten directions, he began to work hard to build clay animals such as Kim Lan, Thanh Su, Bach Tuong, Bach Ho, Long Ma... Animal images are associated with the legend of the Buddha with many fascinating legends.
In the last years of his life, artist Ngo Kim Tong temporarily stopped making statues to proceed with casting candles that were erected at the shrines in the main hall. To mold the candles as he wanted, he went to Saigon to buy Bach Lac wax, a pure wax imported from France, and then cut it into small pieces, put it in a liquid cooking pan, and poured it into a mold. It is expected that these candles will be quite large in size, so artist Ngo Kim Tong could not find a suitable mold. After many days of thinking, he used corrugated iron to make a mold. To successfully cast a candle, artist Ngo Kim Tong must work hard. Because you want the candle to burn continuously and not go out, when pouring the mold, do not let the wax have a horizontal joint. Therefore, it must be poured continuously day and night for several days in a row. After a month, the wax cools and then opens the mold. In total, artisan Ngo Kim Tong has cast 06 large candles, each weighing 200 kg and 02 small candles weighing 100 kg each. The pair of small candles have been lit since 1970, on the day of artist Ngo Kim Tong's death, and have been burning for 46 years since then. According to calculations, although there is about 1/16th of the length, it will take about 3 years for these two candles to burn out. Another strange thing is that during the past 46 years, these two candles have never been extinguished. After the 2 small candles burn out, the big pair of candles will be lit. It is estimated that each tree burns for about 70 years before it goes out, so if you burn each tree in turn, it will take about 400 years to finish.
To praise his talent and creativity, a writer said about artisan Ngo Kim Tong: "As a man who lives for the land, during 42 years of hard work with each burden of land, cherishing each piece of land, he has created shape the land, release the sacred soul into the earth, create a heartbeat for the earth, so that a hundred years later the earth can speak for people".
With those unique artistic and cultural values, on December 19, 2001, Ms. Vo Thi Thang - Director General of the General Department of Tourism gave Dat Set Pagoda (Buu Son Tu) the Vietnam Tourism badge.
In order to preserve, preserve and promote the cultural and artistic values of the Clay Pagoda (Buu Son Tu), on December 10, 2010, the Chairman of the People's Committee of Soc Trang province decided to rank the Clay Pagoda. Buu Son Tu) is a provincial architectural and artistic relic.
To recognize the merits and talents of artisan Ngo Kim Tong, on July 18, 2013, the Vietnam Book of Records Center confirmed that Buu Son's record of Da Bao Tower and the largest Lotus Lotus Tower in Vietnam was 02. clay treasure.
Currently, on average every day, the Clay Pagoda welcomes thousands of domestic and foreign tourists and Buddhist relatives to visit. On the first day, the full moon day, public holidays and Tet holidays, many times more tourists come to visit and worship.
Soc Trang 2073 view
Update day : 23/08/2023
My Phuoc Islet with its fresh, cool climate, green trees, lush fruit in all four seasons, charming poetic scenery, generous, gentle, hospitable people... has become a green Soc Trang tourist destination. Attractive, attracting a large number of domestic and foreign tourists to visit, experience and relax. My Phuoc Islet, also known as Cong Dien Islet or Mud Dune, is located near the downstream end, down the Hau River, in the West - North, East - South direction, between the banks of the two provinces of Soc Trang and Tra Vinh, in the hamlet My Phuoc, Nhon My commune, Ke Sach district, Soc Trang province. The tip of the dune faces Hau Giang, Can Tho, the tail of the dune faces the East Sea, adjacent to Cu Lao Dung district, about 1km from the beginning of the island, about 40km from the East coast, about 25km from Soc Trang city center. If viewed from above, My Phuoc dune has an oval shape like the shape of a canoe or a cana fruit, the two ends are concave, the middle is bulging, the widest part is the section across the middle of the dune body. , diameter about 600m. My Phuoc Islet is about 5km long, with a natural area of more than 1,020 hectares, of which over 300 hectares of fruit trees are located, and currently has 540 households with more than 1,280 residents. According to the old people here, My Phuoc island was formed about 150 years ago. At first, the surface of the dune was very low, on the dune there were only mud flats, weeds, vines, some miscellaneous plants, mostly cork trees, and some wild animals and birds living. From the initial upland cultivation, people began to grow common fruit trees such as bananas, coconuts, citrus, grapefruit, sabo... and then developed other specialty orchards such as mangos, Longan, rambutan, durian, mangosteen... Perhaps because it is suitable for the soil and climate conditions, the fruits here grow very well, have a richer flavor, are more delicious and nutritious than other regions. other land. Traveling to Soc Trang to visit My Phuoc Island with its vast space and poetic rivers, you will definitely feel the cool breeze on the year-round roads lined with fruit trees. In addition, you can also participate in exciting entertainment activities such as visiting the garden, picking fruit yourself; cast nets, set nets to catch fish, pick vegetables; rowing canoes to collect cork, catching goby fish, diatoms, and catching chem carp; Fishing, bathing in the river... or making folk cakes, listening to Southern amateur music with rustic and lyrical "homegrown" folk songs, discovering rustic dishes with alcohol-based flavors such as snakehead fish boiled with wort, sour fish soup cooked with cork, snails boiled in coconut water dipped in rice... thereby understanding more about the lives of gardeners.
Soc Trang 1878 view
From January to December
Located in the Southern Khmer pagoda system in Soc Trang, Chen Kieu Pagoda is known as one of the pagodas with a "unique" architectural style that leaves a deep impression in the hearts of visitors. The outstanding feature of this temple is the walls. It is not evenly cemented, tiled or painted like other temples. The walls of this temple are covered with pieces of cups, plates, and ceramics that look very unique but extremely beautiful and aesthetically pleasing. Chen Kieu Pagoda, also known as Sa Lon Pagoda, is located in Dai Tam commune, My Xuyen district, Soc Trang province, located right on National Highway 1A, about 12 km from Soc Trang city, in the direction from Soc Trang city to Bac Lieu. The pagoda's Khmer name is Wath Sro Loun. For ease of pronunciation, the word Sro Loun is spelled Sa Lon. Sro Loun originates from the word Chro Luong - the name of a canal running along the village road that used to be near the pagoda, and that name is also used to name the pagoda. In 1815, Chen Kieu Pagoda began to be built with materials like leaves, wood, soil... like many other Khmer pagodas. During the war, under the devastation of bombs and bullets, the main hall of the pagoda was seriously damaged. In 1969, the pagoda was rebuilt according to today's architecture, including: Main hall, sala, stupa, place for prayer books, etc. During the construction process, due to lack of materials, the monks came up with an idea. The idea is to donate cups and plates from people in Phum and Soc to put on the wall. This idea not only saves construction costs but also creates impressive decorative motifs. Since then, the pagoda has also been known by the people by its second name: "Chen Kieu Pagoda". Khmer artisans cleverly took advantage of these cups and plates to decorate the walls and towers, creating a harmonious and impressive architectural work. New items are placed directly on the wall, or made into convenient fences surrounding hallways or stair handrails, while broken or chipped items are arranged and assembled into decorative patterns. fancy. The first impression when entering the temple is the three-entrance gate with three towers carved with vibrant patterns and colors in the traditional Cambodian Angkor style. Among the three towers, the middle tower stands out with a glass cage inside, enshrining a majestic sitting Buddha statue. Surrounding the pagoda is a fence decorated with the image of the dancing goddess Apsara, symbolizing peace and prosperity. On both sides of the entrance gate are two stone lion statues, facing the street as if protecting the temple. On the gate wall are the words Khmer and national language: "Sa Lon Pagoda (Chen Kieu)". Along the entrance to the pagoda are two rows of statues of the god Kayno (kerno), these are statues with the face of the fairy Apsara - symbolizing eternal beauty and the body of the god Garuda - symbolizing strength. The campus of Chen Kieu Pagoda is very large with many cool green trees, making visitors feel very comfortable. Like other Khmer pagodas, the roof of Chen Kieu Pagoda consists of 3 staggered roofs, the top roof being the smallest. At the edge of each roof layer there are decorative patterns, motifs, and traditional statues of Khmer culture, carrying the wish for peace and escape. The triangular roof is beautifully decorated like a colorful carpet exposed to the sky. The two ends of the knife on both sides are curved as if there is a spiritual communion with the savior of human souls, blessing and protecting sentient beings for peace and happiness. The most outstanding and impressive architecture on the facade of the main hall is the column heads decorated with the image of the winged goddess Kayno. These statues of the goddess Kayno are in a rising position to support the roof's fringe, creating a transition between the vertical direction of the columns and the horizontal direction of the roof. The main hall of the pagoda is spacious and airy, with 16 rows of large columns. Around the pillars are carved and embossed with images from Khmer cultural legends. On both sides of the wall are many paintings telling the story of Shakyamuni Buddha from birth until attainment of enlightenment. The walls and paintings are even more special when decorated and shaped with broken pieces of cups and plates. The worship space is a complex of 20 large and small Buddha statues, with many standing, lying, and sitting positions, arranged reasonably and artistically. The smoke of incense and the light of candles swaying with each gentle breeze make the already solemn temple even more solemn. In the middle of the courtyard of Chen Kieu Pagoda is a flagpole, with a vivid image of the Nagar snake spreading its 5 heads, referring to the legend of a snake spreading its head to protect the Buddha from the rain while he was meditating. The Nagar snake is an important decorative motif in Khmer Buddhist sculpture. The Khmer people of Soc Trang in particular and the South in general are influenced by Indian Buddhism, so Theravada Buddhism is the main religion that governs their spiritual life. That's why they only worship Shakyamuni Buddha, not other Bodhisattvas or Avalokiteshvara. Furthermore, Khmer people believe that their ancestors are snake mothers, so they worship snakes and snake images often appear in temples. Behind the pagoda is the Garden where Shakyamuni Buddha preached and entered Nirvana. This is an architectural complex consisting of many large and small Buddha statues, vividly simulating the process of birth, searching for truth, enlightenment until entering Nirvana of Buddha Shakyamuni. Chen Kieu Pagoda is a famous pagoda in Soc Trang, an indispensable spiritual pilgrimage site for the lives of people and the Khmer community. It is a sacred place for people to find peace and tranquility. Coming to Chen Kieu Pagoda, in addition to admiring the unique architecture of the pagoda, visitors also have the opportunity to learn about the culture of the Khmer people. For those who love to explore or check-in with ancient architectural works, this is an ideal place. Every corner of the temple can become an artistic background for thousands of likes, guaranteed to surprise many people when posted.
Soc Trang 1874 view
From January to December
If you have the opportunity to visit Buu Son Tu, visitors will have the opportunity to learn about the unique cultural, spiritual and religious life of the people of Soc Trang. Buu Son Tu, also known as Clay Pagoda, is located at 286, Ton Duc Thang Street, Group 1, Ward 5, Soc Trang City, Soc Trang Province. Clay Pagoda is not famous for its external architecture or large scale in area, but it is a unique pagoda in Vietnam because thousands of artifacts inside are shaped from clay and made from clay. There are pairs of candles and giant incense sticks. According to the elders, Buu Son pagoda was previously just a small hermitage built around the beginning of the 19th century, built by Mr. Ngo Kim Tay for the purpose of practicing at home. At first, the pagoda was made entirely of available natural materials such as bamboo, paintings, etc. It was not until the fourth abbot, Mr. Ngo Kim Tong (1909 - 1970), that the small temple was renovated and expanded. to have Buu Son throne like now. Buu Son pagoda has an area of about 400m2 with traditional architecture of wooden columns and corrugated iron roof, but this ancient pagoda contains many unique cultural and artistic values. There are nearly 2,000 large and small Buddha statues, along with sacred animals and worship objects, molded by artist Ngo Kim Tong in clay for 42 years (from 1929 to 1970). Traveling to Soc Trang, visiting Clay Pagoda, everyone admires and admires the genius who used his lifelong determination and love for Buddhism to create this miraculous work. Mr. Ngo Kim Tong is the son of Mr. Ngo Kim Dinh. When he was young, he was often sick. In 1929, when he was 20 years old, he fell seriously ill and thought he would not survive. The family had no choice but to take Mr. Tong to a mountain temple in An Giang province for treatment and to pray to God and Buddha. While taking medicine and practicing meditation and calming down, he gradually got better. Mr. Ngo Kim Tong became a monk and returned to the temple to become the fourth generation abbot, an artist who did not go to sculpting or painting classes, did not study with a formal teacher, but only through folk contemplation created amazing works. Clay sculptures have extremely rare religious historical value. The raw materials used for making statues are mainly clay, dug by Mr. Tong from fields a few kilometers away from the pagoda, brought back to dry, then put in a mortar and pounded with a pestle until smooth, filtering out all impurities and roots. trees, grass roots, take fine soil and mix it with sawdust to make incense (incense powder) and acacia acacia to create a fragrant mixture. At that time, he just started shaping the statues. The statues were smooth and not cracked. In addition, he also researched and applied support methods for sculpting statues to meet high aesthetic requirements. He used wire mesh and wooden trees to build the ribs, then used mosquito net fabric to cover it and covered it with mixed materials to make the statue. , the exterior is covered with a layer of metallic paint and varnish. Not only with his skillful and talented hands, but also with his extremely rich imagination, hundreds of large and small statues were formed without duplication. Each statue has a different look, clearly showing the spirit on each face. It is also the result of the mind of a Buddha-oriented person, the diligence, diligence, and quietness that brings sweetness to life. Mr. Ngo Kim Tong also created other works, the most prominent of which is the Da Bao tower built in 1939 when he was only 30 years old, about 4 meters high and very sophisticatedly designed. The tower has 13 floors, each floor has 16 doors, each door has a Buddha statue, in total Da Bao tower has 208 doors, 208 Buddhas and around the tower there are 156 winding dragons flying into the sky. tall, protecting the tower. Bao Toa is the second unique building built in 1940, about 2 meters high. Above there is a lotus flower with 1000 petals in an octagonal shape, below there are 16 fairies standing as attendants. The base of the tower is shaped like 4 animals of the four sacred animals (unicorn, dragon, tortoise, phoenix) and 12 unique, lively and impressive fish transformed into dragons. Looking at this tower and lotus flower as a whole, visitors will immediately think of a talented sculptor who took advantage of Buddhist teachings to create statues that speak the Buddha's meaning. In the worship space above the ceiling, there is hanging a chandelier called "Luc Long Dang" also made of clay, consisting of three peaks with 6 curved dragons symbolizing the six provinces of the Southwest region, their tails bunched together. each other, heads sticking out in all directions. The dragon's body is made entirely of clay with many delicate details, so the weight is quite heavy. At the bottom of the lamp is an upside-down lotus that radiates its petals to the altar. The lotus petals are quite thin, but according to the passage of time, Luc Long Dang has not fallen or chipped at all. This is a rare artistic masterpiece and the last work of his life. Around the pagoda, contributing to guarding the system of Buddha statues, there are many animal statues also made of clay. The most prominent and sharpest is the pair of Kim Lans holding their heads high in front of the altar in the middle of the hall, holding pearls in their mouths. The feet resting on the ball look so majestic, plus the statues of Thanh Su, Bach Ho, Long Ma,... some are gentle and some are very majestic. Clay Pagoda is not only famous for its thousands of statues made of clay, but is also known to tourists for its four rather special pairs of giant candles. In the last years of his life, he temporarily stopped making statues and cast candles to erect them in the main halls of the temple. He bought pure, unadulterated wax from Saigon many times with his trusted disciples, chopped the wax into pieces, melted it, and then "cast" the lamp. Because these lamps were too large, Mr. Ngo Kim Tong could not find a suitable mold, so he used roofing iron to make the mold. Pour wax into a large pan and cook continuously for many days until the tube was full until noon. 2 meters high. After a month, the new pairs of candles were completely dry. When the mold was removed, these pairs of lamps naturally took on the wavy shape of corrugated iron sheets. After several months of continuously doing this, he was able to cast six large candles (3 pairs). ), each weighs 200 kg, each pair is estimated to burn continuously for more than 70 years and two small candles each weigh 100 kg. The pair of candles was lit on the full moon day of July 1970 since the day Mr. Ngo Kim Tong The tree has been burning continuously for more than 40 years and nearly 1/5 of the tree remains. The works made from clay created by Mr. Ngo Kim Tong more than 60 years ago are still intact over time. However, what all tourists and scientists cannot explain is that all of the most famous and strange works in the world were created by a monk. I just finished 3rd grade at the village school and don't know anything about the art of painting.
Soc Trang 1791 view
From January to December
Anyone who comes to the Southwest and doesn't go to the floating market is truly missing out. This place is not only a place to trade but also an ideal destination for tourists to learn about the unique cultural features of the Western river region. In the Mekong Delta, there are many floating markets, but Nga Nam floating market still has a simple and idyllic character and is one of the oldest floating markets with a history of more than a hundred years, on a large scale in the region. Nga Nam floating market in Nga Nam town, about 60 km from Soc Trang city, is a place that attracts tourists to visit and experience Western river life. If you want to visit Nga Nam floating market, starting from the center of Soc Trang city, visitors can follow National Highway 1A to Phu Loc, then turn right onto Provincial Road 42 to arrive. The name Nga Nam appeared when the French dug the canal around Phung Hiep route. This canal and Xang canal cross Xeo Chinh canal to form five river branches flowing to 5 intersections: Ca Mau, Vinh Quoi, Long My, Thanh Tri, Phung Hiep. Nga Nam floating market usually opens quite early and lasts until 8 o'clock, then gradually dissipates. The busiest time is usually from 5am to 6am with the scene of hundreds of boats gathering, making a bustling noise all over the river wharf. This is the most ideal time to experience the floating market. Near the Lunar New Year, Nga Nam floating market is open almost from morning to night, making the atmosphere even busier. The variety of goods at Nga Nam floating market is very rich and diverse, from famous delicious rice from large rice granaries in the area to garden vegetables and fruits; from agricultural products and seafood to daily living and household items, etc. To help transmit information easily between sellers and buyers, Beo trees are an effective advertising medium. of the floating market type. This tool is usually made from old bamboo, bent straight, about 4-5 m long, with sharp corners for easy insertion and pliers when parked. The top is perforated to allow a rope to be skewered through to hang goods. Buyers just need to stand from afar, look at the Beo trees to observe and find the type of goods they want to buy. Currently, due to the increasingly improved road transportation system, some traders have switched to the form of onshore market groups. However, the floating market still operates quite bustlingly, still retaining the typical soul of the Western floating market, a tourist destination not to be missed in Soc Trang. Coming to Nga Nam market, visitors will see the panorama of the market like a vivid, colorful realistic painting. Colors from vegetables and fruits; the color of grandmother's dresses fluttering in the wind... In the middle of a vast river area, the sound of oars splashing water, invitations to buy goods on boats, canoes, five-leaf canoes, three-leaf canoes going up and down... create a joyful scene of buying and selling. Visiting the Floating Market, visitors can enjoy breakfast right on the boat with Soc Trang specialties such as noodle soup, vermicelli noodles, silkworm cakes and drinks including da coffee, sugar tea, fruit juice... Find and buy There's nothing better than visiting this place, eating some agricultural products, eating some breakfast on the river.
Soc Trang 2004 view
From January to December
Bat Pagoda, also known as Ma Toc Pagoda (or Mahatup Pagoda), is located on Van Ngoc Chinh Street (with signage) in Ward 3, Soc Trang city. The reason for this special name is because the pagoda is home to crowded colonies of bats. The pagoda is the only cultural space worshiping Shakyamuni Buddha of the Southern Khmer ethnic community in Soc Trang province. According to the remaining ancient bibliography, it is recorded: The pagoda was started construction in 1569, more than 440 years ago. Initially, the main hall of the pagoda was built only with bamboo leaves, then rebuilt with bricks and tiled roof. In 1960, the pagoda was majorly repaired in the main hall and until it had the beautiful and spacious appearance it has today, the pagoda went through many restorations and embellishments. In 2008, an unfortunate incident caused the temple to burn down in the main hall area. But there were continuous positive signs when in April 2009, the main hall of the pagoda was restored to its original state. In 2013, Bat Pagoda tourist area in Soc Trang province was put into operation. Although the budget is not abundant, the tourist area located opposite the temple gate has a spacious parking lot and other convenient services such as restaurants, trams... that are very popular with tourists. Since 1999, Bat Pagoda has been recognized as a national historical-cultural relic. Up to now, the Soc Trang government is still considering policies to preserve and restore this place to both educate religious beliefs and turn Bat Pagoda into a familiar tourist destination of the province. Bat Pagoda is an architectural complex including: Main hall, Sala, meeting house of monks and followers, living room of monks and abbots, towers for storing ashes of the dead, living room... All works Located in a large campus with many ancient trees, an area of about 4 hectares. Although it is a space to worship Shakyamuni Buddha, the architecture of Bat Pagoda in Soc Trang is still strongly influenced by Khmer culture. The pagoda stands out in the green space of trees thanks to its characteristic Khmer orange-yellow color. The pagoda has a tiled roof, four curved ends of the roof are carved with Naga snakes, and on top of the roof is a pointed tower. Surrounding the main hall are rows of supporting columns, each column has a statue of the goddess Kemnar clasping her hands in front of her chest... Going deeper into the sanctuary, we will see a monolithic stone statue of Shakyamuni Buddha placed on a lotus flower about 2 meters high. Equally impressive nearby is a statue depicting Buddha riding on the sacred snake Muchalinda. Tourists have the opportunity to learn in detail about the life of Buddha through paintings depicting the Buddha, from his birth until his enlightenment and entering Nirvana.. Sutras recorded on palm tree leaves along with Rare artifacts with unique cultural and religious values of the Southern region are also kept in the solemn grounds of the pagoda. The tour guide will definitely explain about Soc Trang Bat Pagoda to help you understand many things better. Visiting Bat Pagoda, visitors can rest in rows of chairs under the cool shade of ancient trees. On the campus, there are also many stupas containing the remains of the temple's abbots, and the Sa La Assembly Hall with communal house-style architecture, serving as a place for monks to rest and study...
Soc Trang 1907 view
From January to December
Peam Buol Thmay Pagoda is one of the destinations you cannot miss when you have the opportunity to travel to Soc Trang. This pagoda was built with unique architecture, extremely massive and plated with brilliant gold, no different from a magnificent palace. Peam Buol Thmay Pagoda is currently one of the most famous pagodas in Soc Trang province. Compared to other spiritual works of the Khmer people, the pagoda was built quite late, starting in 1964. Therefore, in the name of the new pagoda there is a word Thmay meaning new. In addition to the name Peam Buol Thmay in Khmer, this pagoda also has many other names such as: Nga Tu Pagoda because it is located next to the intersection of Sung Dinh provincial road. Lamp Pillar Pagoda because next to the pagoda there are many telecommunications towers serving the postal industry. Sung Dinh Pagoda is located on the land that was formerly Sung Dinh village (now merged into Soc Trang city). As for the official name, Peam Buol Thmay Pagoda, in Khmer means new intersection. Because Peam Buol Thmay Pagoda belongs to the Khmer people, it will certainly bear the typical architectural culture of this people. In 2016, the Sala section here was repaired to have a more complete appearance. By 2018, it was officially completed with a typical Thai temple style. This newness has caused many young people to come here to visit and take photos. In addition to the Sala, the remaining parts of the temple grounds such as the main hall and the monks' monastery still retain their original architecture with brick walls and simple corrugated iron roofs. The main hall is quite rustic. Compared to other temples in Soc Trang, Peam Buol Thmay is somewhat simpler. Besides, because it is located at a major road intersection, the pagoda's area is also limited, the surrounding campus is not too large and few trees are planted. All the highlights of Peam Buol Thmay Pagoda are in the architecture of Sala. The design uses white as the main color, the lines and decorative motifs are painted with gold emulsion. Sala consists of 2 floors, at the top is a large tower, creating an impression of majesty, magnificence and sacredness. If you have ever been to the Golden Temple country of Thailand, you will realize that this architectural style is extremely familiar. When you come to Peam Buol Thmay Pagoda, you not only feel the sacredness and solemnity but also have countless impressive "virtual living" corners to bring home millions of likes. Compared to traditional Khmer Buddhist architecture, Thai temple style is somewhat softer, gentler, and more elegant. The decorative colors are also quite simple but very prominent and extremely brilliant. Therefore, during the process of renovating Sala, Peam Buol Thmay Pagoda paid attention to every detail and line to create a space of harmonious interference between these two pagoda styles. If you pay close attention, you will see carved dragon motifs running along the hallway and on the roof, they are curving, lively and soft. Inside the Sala is also decorated quite simply, the altar with the Shakyamuni Buddha statue is also carved in Thai Buddhist style. All walls in the Sala are painted white, dotted with diamond-shaped geometric patterns, painted with a shimmering gold layer. It can be said that when you come to the Sala of Peam Buol Thmay Pagoda, you can take beautiful photos from every corner. The atmosphere here does not bring a heavy feeling of sacredness but is more about luxury and brilliance. Therefore, you can freely be creative with impressive camera angles, choose outfits that stand out a bit, and just click the camera to ensure a beautiful photo. In particular, the late afternoon and sunset moments here are extremely beautiful because the rose gold sunlight reflects on the golden emulsion patterns, creating a scene that looks like it came out of a painting. Therefore, you can consider coming here in the late afternoon to take more impressive photos. In addition, Khmer people also have many other traditional festivals often held at Peam Buol Thmay pagoda. So when you come here, you will have the opportunity to understand more about the unique cultural features of this ethnic community.
Soc Trang 832 view
From November to April
My Dong Ba Chua Xu Temple is located in My Dong hamlet, My Quoi commune, Nga Nam town (Soc Trang). This place is associated with many important historical events of a heroic revolutionary land. Going back in history, My Dong hamlet, My Quoi commune was once a vast, empty land, crisscrossed with rivers and very deserted. At that time, My Dong Ba Chua Xu Temple was built on a foundation about 40cm high, with an area of 2,400m2. The temple is built of bricks, roofed with tiles, divided into 2 compartments, the first compartment worships Ba Chua Xu and her predecessors and descendants, the back compartment is used as a kitchen to prepare worshiping ceremonies. Before 1930, the uprising movement against the oppression and exploitation of the French colonialists and the henchmen of the American Quoi people continued but was not strong. In early 1930, comrade Quan Trong Hoang, a party member, returned to My Quoi village to organize propaganda and foster revolutionary theory for elite youth. From that human resource, in June 1930, the first Vietnamese Communist Party cell of Soc Trang province was established at My Quoi market with comrade Chau Van Phat as secretary. In a short period of time, comrade Chau Van Phat divided his thoughts, prayed for peace, was not steadfast in his stance, forgot his duties, and was disciplined. After that, the superior party organization nominated comrade Tran Van Bay as Secretary of the Party Cell and took My Dong Ba Chua Xu Temple as the location for cell cell activities. In the form of public activities such as organizing martial arts classes, teaching ancient music, teaching the national language... many secret training classes are continuously opened by the Party cell, secretly propagating the revolutionary line, recruiting many members. elite youth joined the Party, thereby promoting the growing development of the local revolutionary movement. After the uprising on November 23, 1940 throughout the provinces of Cochinchina, the French colonialists frantically launched large-scale raids to take revenge on the patriotic revolutionaries. The Temple of Ba Chua Xu in My Dong was also destroyed and leveled by them... It can be said that My Dong hamlet, My Quoi commune is not only the cradle of revolution, where the first Communist Party cell of Soc Trang province was established, but also the revolutionary base of agencies such as: District Party Committee and other organizations. Departments of Thanh Tri district, the Provincial Party Committee's Propaganda Department, the Department of Military Affairs, Communications, Kinh Tai, Civil Military Medicine, the Music and Dance troupe of Soc Trang province and a number of departments of the Bac Lieu Town Party Committee. During the resistance war, many times the French colonialists and then the American imperialists poured bombs and bullets to wipe out the revolutionary forces but still could not shake the iron spirit of the soldiers and people of this heroic countryside. The revolutionary base here was still maintained until April 30, 1975. According to the uncles at the Veterans Association of My Quoi commune, through the two resistance wars against the French colonialists and the American imperialists, many outstanding children of My Quoi's homeland were awarded and posthumously awarded the title of Hero of Strength by the State. People's Armed Forces, with more than 100 heroic Vietnamese Mothers. Through the rain of bombs and bullets during the war years, after the country was at peace, people in My Dong hamlet together rebuilt a temple made of bamboo, wood and thatched with leaves to worship and pray for their homeland. With favorable weather and wind, everyone has a peaceful and prosperous life. In 1997, the province invested funds to build a memorial stele where the first Vietnamese Communist Party cell of Soc Trang province was established. Every year, My Quoi people organize the Ba festival on the 16th day of the second lunar month. On November 27, 2003, Ba Chua Xu Temple in My Dong was ranked by the Ministry of Culture and Information as a National Historical-Cultural Monument. Source: Soc Trang Online Newspaper
Soc Trang 2545 view
The victory of Nga Nam Branch has great significance, affirming the maturity of the Party Committee, army and people of Thanh Tri - Nga Nam in the resistance war against the US to save the country, reducing the morale and prestige of the enemy, causing increase the morale of our army and people. During the war against the US, because Nga Nam had a very important strategic position both militarily and economically, the US and puppet established a military zone here. Nga Nam sub-area belongs to Ba Xuyen sub-area, tactical area 4, located on the land at the beginning of a river with five branches. During Ngo Dinh Diem's time, Nga Nam had many evil puppets gathered here. Among them, Muoi Hung is famous for his wickedness. They once commanded the militia and security forces to drag into the areas around the town, penetrate deep into the countryside, raid, raid, arrest, shoot, kill, imprison... causing pain and suffering to countless civilians. innocent. In early May 1962, the Provincial Party Standing Committee and the Provincial Command Committee directed the provincial armed forces to determine to destroy Nga Nam Branch. With careful preparation, we attacked and completely destroyed the branch, capturing many weapons, military equipment and supplies. Although Nga Nam Branch was destroyed by us many times, the US and puppet tried every way to recapture it, trying to consolidate and build this branch into a solid military base and rearrange the defense system. rigid. Among the attacks that surrounded Nga Nam Branch, the war in 1968 was the longest and fiercest siege. In the early days of the siege, we only used artillery and sniper fire to overwhelm the morale of the enemy soldiers, creating conditions for civil forces to focus on building two fortresses, establishing a siege and attacking more effectively. next steps. The battle to encircle Nga Nam Branch became more and more intense as time went on. When the fortresses were completed, the frightened enemy still tried to risk their lives to attack, but each counterattack was broken. After nearly a month of siege, we defeated the enemy 21 times who risked their lives to send soldiers out to counterattack. Our troops destroyed and injured more than 60 enemies, including many commanders of security forces, military security, reconnaissance and evil puppets. As a result, after 52 days and nights of the siege and invasion campaign, Thanh Tri's army and people received strong support from a part of the provincial forces, and we completely liberated Nga Nam Sub-region. The victory of Nga Nam Sub-region has an extremely great historical significance, it was the first time in the Southwest battlefield, using the siege and invasion tactics of guerrillas and local district-level soldiers (combined with a small part of the province) has completely destroyed a military zone that was among the second most solidly defended in the Mekong Delta. The victory of Nga Nam Branch was the result of determined direction, knowing how to promote the combined strength of many types of troops, in building the people's war posture; persistently cling to the people, build a solid base, be creative, and courageously continuously attack. With nearly 200 enemy soldiers killed, injured, and at the same time disarmed by nearly 100 others during the campaign, it shows that the fighting style of the people's war is correct and that the locality knows how to apply it. The winning site of Nga Nam Branch is located in Ward 1, Nga Nam town, Soc Trang province, ranked by the Ministry of Culture and Information as a National Historical - Cultural Relic, on August 23, 2004. . Source: Soc Trang Online Newspaper
Soc Trang 2234 view
Taberd Soc Trang School's historical and cultural relic site is today located on the campus of Ischool High School located at 19, Ton Duc Thang, Ward 6, Soc Trang city, Soc Trang province. The reason the relic is called Taberd School is because in the past this was a boarding elementary school of a French Catholic organization, built in 1912. The school has a campus of 11,128 square meters, accommodating several thousand people. . This place marked an important revolutionary event, recognizing the great contributions of the Party Committee, army and people of Soc Trang in the resistance war against the French. After the victory of the August Revolution in 1945, our Party quickly consolidated and built the revolutionary government, stabilized society, and took care of the people's lives. At the same time, deal with the French colonialists' plot to return to invasion. In the South, the Nam Ky Provincial Party Committee assigned the Soc Trang Provincial Party Committee an important and urgent task, which is to organize the reception of officers and soldiers returning from Con Dao. At 7:00 pm on September 23, 1945, a boat carrying about 2,300 people, including more than 1,800 political prisoners from Con Dao, arrived in Soc Trang and arrived at Cau Noi wharf, also Cau Tau port in six provinces. And Taberd School with its spacious campus and next to Noi Bridge was chosen as a place to stop and rest for Con Dao political prisoners from September 23 to September 30, 1945. Here, Con Dao political prisoners were enthusiastically welcomed by thousands of Soc Trang compatriots amid a forest of torches, flags and banners. Tens of tons of rice, salt sugar, hundreds of pigs, chickens, ducks and thousands of clothes, blankets, mats, mosquito nets, boards... were donated by the people to prepare to welcome the group, a service team consisting of hundreds of men. The young woman was in a ready position to serve. After September 30, 1945, the group of Con Dao political prisoners departed for Can Tho to receive new tasks. By welcoming and taking care of Con Dao political prisoners, the Party Committee and people of Soc Trang have successfully completed an important and meaningful task, contributing to building and firmly protecting the achievements of the revolution, bringing The Vietnamese revolution went from victory to victory. With the meaning and importance of the event, on June 11, 1992, the Ministry of Culture and Information decided to recognize Taberd School in Soc Trang as a national historical relic, a type of revolutionary historical relic. . The showroom is arranged with 6 major contents: The first content is "Con Dao Prison - Hell on Earth": includes a number of images of Con Dao prison and prisoners taken, showing a part of the torture and brutal torture of political prisoners. treatment in colonial prisons. The second content is the successful August Revolution of 1945: The third content is: The event of welcoming a group of Political prisoners from Con Dao to the mainland. The fourth content is: The 7-day process of taking care of officers and soldiers at Taberd School. The fifth content is: Typical characters. Source: Electronic information portal of Soc Trang City People's Committee
Soc Trang 2099 view
Bat Pagoda's name is Wathseraytêchô - Mahatup (transliterated from Khmer). Later, the Kinh and Chinese people read the word Mahatup as "Ma Toc". That's why many people call it: "Ma Toc Pagoda". In addition, people also call it Bat Pagoda because there are many bats in this pagoda. The word "Ma Toc" is also the place name (from the road junction to the turn to Chua Bat Pagoda) as a small village. The population here has 3 ethnic groups (Kinh, Chinese, Khmer) living together. Bat Pagoda is an architectural complex including: The main hall, the Sala (assembly house of monks and followers), the monk's house and the abbot, the towers for storing ashes of the dead, the living room... All the works Located in a large campus with many ancient trees, an area of about 4 hectares. Bat Pagoda is located in Soc Trang city, cluster 9, ward 3, Soc Trang city. According to Khmer people, Mahatup is a big battle (Tup: battle; Maha: big). This was where a fierce battle of the peasant uprising against the feudal lords of the past took place. After that battle, the displaced people returned to live. They thought that this land had good omens (good land) so they built a temple to worship Buddha. As if there was a supreme being to protect them (because the battles of the peasant movement in other places were failed, but here the battle was fierce and won). According to the ancient bibliography left behind by the Pagoda, it is recorded: The pagoda was started construction in 1569 of the solar calendar. Bat Pagoda architecture is similar to other Khmer Pagoda architecture in the Mekong Delta. Decorative motifs, sculptures, and paintings have Khmer cultural nuances. From the almost mystical phenomena of the bats at "Bat Pagoda", rumors spread far and wide, and visitors from all over wanted to visit to see for themselves. Since the anti-American war, "Bat Pagoda" has been famous for its mysteries, so the Pagoda's campus at that time was very strange to outside society. Therefore, our cadres often go to revolutionary activities. To this day, Bat Pagoda is very famous, because of its charming landscape, closeness to nature, the official religious architectural complex of the Khmer people and the mysterious bat colony (according to the beliefs of each ethnic group). ) has inspired more and more visitors to visit the pagoda. Currently, the artifacts in the bat pagoda are mainly statues of Buddhas such as: the 2m high statue of Shakyamuni Buddha sitting in meditation made of cement and many other small statues made of cement and other materials offered by Buddhists. pagoda. There is also a hammock door frame made of wood lacquered with gold and carved with images of birds, flowers, and especially with motifs of bats; a bed carved with delicate flowers and leaves, painted in red and gold; Two large cabinets have carved patterns following traditional Khmer motifs. Most especially, in the abbot's hall and living room, there is also a statue of a deceased monk, the same size as a real person in a meditating position made of cement that was made for the room. Cozy, lively and attractive. On February 12, 1999, the Ministry of Culture and Information recognized Bat Pagoda as a national monument. Source: Department of Culture, Sports and Tourism of Soc Trang province
Soc Trang 1965 view
Quan Am Pagoda located next to Dai Ngai river is associated with important historical events of Soc Trang province in particular and the country in general, and was the first place to welcome and care for Con Dao political prisoners returning to the mainland. Quan Am Pagoda is located in Ngai Hoi 2 hamlet, Dai Ngai town, Long Phu district (Soc Trang) with a long history. According to remaining documents, between 1860 and 1872, the pagoda was built and named Quan Am Co Tu. Quan Am Pagoda was initially built with simple leaves, but after many restorations and embellishments, it was completed and spacious as it is today. In particular, here on September 23, 1945, an event of important historical significance took place. Quan Am Pagoda and Buddhists along with the Party Committee, government and people of Soc Trang were honored to welcome and dedicatedly contributed to taking care of the group of loyal revolutionary soldiers of more than 1,800 people, who had just returned to the mainland after years of being imprisoned by the enemy in the "hell on earth" Con Dao. In the group of revolutionary soldiers at that time, there were comrades Le Duan, Nguyen Van Linh, Pham Hung, and many other officials present. The event of welcoming and taking care of the Con Dao political prisoners back to the mainland added strength, helping the Party Committee and people of Soc Trang overcome many difficulties in the early days of building the government and preparing for the resistance war against the colonialists. France. With these great historical meanings and values, Quan Am Pagoda was ranked by Soc Trang province as a Provincial Historical-Cultural Monument in 2004. Today, the pagoda is a place of religious activities for local Buddhists, a place of revolutionary traditional education, as well as a tourist destination for tourists from near and far. Venerable Thich Phuoc Thien - Deputy Abbot of Quan Am Pagoda said: "The pagoda not only meets the religious needs of the people but is also a place to serve the people's amenities and community activities; a place to educate local revolutionary traditions. In addition, I actively participate in social charity activities, helping many people in difficult circumstances. The pagoda connects benefactors from near and far to bring warmth and prosperity to poor people in difficult times, contributing to carrying out social charity work with the locality. The pagoda also does a good job of propagandizing the policies, guidelines, and laws of the Party and State to Buddhists." Every day, the temple welcomes visitors from all over to visit, make offerings, and study; On major holidays there are many tourists. When passing through the three-entrance gate, visitors will see the statue of Guan Yin Buddha standing on a lotus flower right in the temple yard and a few steps to the right is the Dia Mau holy temple. Inside is a stone statue of Maitreya Buddha placed right in front of the main hall. Next is the main hall that is being built, restored with 1 ground floor and 1 floor, concreted, with modern architecture, close to the people of the South. “Like the main hall of other Northern Buddhist temples, the main hall of Shakyamuni Buddha is the main Buddha worshiped. Next to the main hall, there are also Buddhas worshiping Thien Thu Thien Nhan, Tieu Diem, Ho Dharma, Tam The Buddha, and always worshiping Patriarch Dat Ma. At the top of the main hall is a stupa with unique architecture. The temple is a place where Buddhists and local people place their faith. The pagoda is the place for cultural, educational, spiritual and religious activities of the community. The pagoda is closely associated with the lives and activities of the people. In particular, this is also a place with history and revolutionary traditions, so people here are very proud. Source: Soc Trang Online Newspaper
Soc Trang 1899 view
One of the oldest Khmer pagodas in Soc Trang, built around the 15th-16th centuries, is Tra Tim Pagoda. Currently, in Soc Trang city there are 3 pagodas with the same name Tra Tim that people often call Old Tra Tim, New Tra Tim and Middle Tra Tim. Based on its history, the old Tra Tim Pagoda is the oldest and most majestic. This is not only an ancient pagoda but also a revolutionary relic marking the victories of monks and Khmer people of Soc Trang town (now Soc Trang city) in the struggle against America to save the country. Tra Tim Pagoda was started construction nearly 500 years ago, on a high, dry land of 38,600 square meters located in Tam Trung hamlet, Dai Tam commune, My Xuyen district, Soc Trang, now in Tam Trung cluster, ward 10. , Soc Trang city. The pagoda has a unique location because it is adjacent to two large roads of Soc Trang city: Tran Hung Dao street and National Highway 1A. Initially, the pagoda only built a few monk houses for the senior monk and monks in the temple to temporarily rest. Next, the senior monk chose a suitable location for the ceremony to build the main temple, then the meeting house (sala), and the tower. Ash storage, crematorium... all buildings are made of wood or sand, roofed with leaves. Around the pagoda, there are hundreds of ancient oil trees and star trees over 100 years old, which not only create a cool, mysterious and sacred space but also serve to collect wood to repair the pagoda or build houses, boats, and Ngo boats when the trees have grown. old. The temple's architecture has traditional characteristics of the Khmer people, including the main hall, sala, school teaching Pali language for children in the area, crematorium, Ngo boat house of the pagoda, tower for ashes.... Currently, the pagoda still preserves a number of artifacts such as 40 statues of Sakyamuni Buddha made of wood, stone, bronze, glass, cement, 2 dragon lion statues (dragon head and lion body) made of lacquered wood. gold (also known as a deer - tea - masonry), a deer statue made of wood lacquered and gilded, used for monks to sit and preach; 9 main inauguration stele slabs.... Tra Tim Pagoda is not only an artistic architectural work of the Khmer people of Soc Trang province, but also a place marking the victories of monks and Khmer people of Soc Trang town in the direct struggle against the plot to relocate the Khmer people. The temple went elsewhere to expand the US-Diem Soc Trang airport in 1962. Since the airport was established next to the pagoda, it has affected and destroyed the pure, sacred space where the monks practice by the sound of airplane engines operating day and night. This airport location was formerly a horse racetrack for French officers and officials. In 1940, Japan occupied Indochina and in 1941 took prisoners of war and the people of Soc Trang destroyed the racetrack to build Soc Trang airport to serve as a rear base to support the Japanese air force on the Pacific front. It can be said that although the struggle of the people and monks of Tra Tim Pagoda took place within a small town and did not cause any harm, this event became a trigger for the movements. The direct struggle of monks and Khmer people everywhere in Soc Trang province, against the enemy oppressing monks, against the enemy forcing their children who are practicing monks to become soldiers. After the liberation in 1975, until now, Soc Trang airport has been used as a military school of Military Region 9, Tra Tim pagoda is still peaceful, free and is increasingly renovated more spaciously and prominently than before. With those victories, the pagoda has been classified as a revolutionary historical relic since May 12, 2004, according to the decision of the People's Committee of Soc Trang province. The pagoda is also a pioneer in mobilizing and contributing many resources to build rural transportation, great solidarity houses, build a new cultural life, eliminate illiteracy for poor children... with the intention of a good and beautiful life. religion. Source: Soc Trang Tourism
Soc Trang 1877 view