The number 1 application for discovering tourism in 63 provinces and cities in Vietnam

Explore the history, culture, people and beautiful landscapes of Vietnam on the 63Stravel travel app

Download the 63stravel app

Logo 63stravel

Mac Dynasty Citadel Relics (Tuyen Quang Citadel)

Mac Dynasty Citadel Relics (Tuyen Quang Citadel)

Tuyen Quang Citadel (also known as Mac Dynasty Citadel) is located between Xuan Hoa and Tam Co neighborhoods, in Tan Quang ward, Tuyen Quang city, built around 1533-1548. The citadel was built in a square shape, each side is 275m long, the wall is 3.5m high, and the thickness at the top of the citadel is 0.8m. In the middle of each side of the citadel there is a semicircular door opening to the four directions east, west, south, and north. A tower was built above the door and the roof was covered with scale tiles. Inside the citadel wall, there is a small path for refueling ammunition, first aid, and transporting wounded. Bricks are made of laterite containing iron ore, which is very hard. At the outer edge of the citadel is a layer of deep, flooded moats. At the beginning of the Nguyen Dynasty, the citadel was repaired, reinforced, and built with small bricks. In the citadel, slightly to the north, there is Tho Son mountain, nearly 50m high, steep, very convenient for observing and defending when surrounded. Located on the banks of the Lo River, located on a convenient transportation axis, the terrain and structure make the citadel an important military position. There were many historical events that took place in the Mac Dynasty citadel: In 1884, ethnic people led by Lanh Chan and Doc Thinh along with Luu Vinh Phuc's army besieged the French army in the citadel from August 1884 to April 1885, blocking supply ships and digging many tunnel, use explosives to destroy it. Out of a total of 600 enemies, 200 were killed and more than 300 were injured. At dawn on August 17, 1945, under the command of the Provincial Uprising Committee, the Liberation Army and local self-defense quickly captured the provincial governor's palace, security camp, post office, and treasury department, leaving only Tuyen Quang citadel was camped by Japanese troops. On August 20, the Liberation Army both blocked the Japanese army from Ha Giang and concentrated its forces to attack the citadel, organizing a mass march to show its might. On August 21, the Japanese army was forced to surrender. On March 20, 1961, at the stadium at the foot of Tho Son mountain, Tuyen Quang people held a meeting to welcome President Ho Chi Minh to visit and work. Tuyen Quang Citadel Relics was ranked as a National Relic on August 30, 1991. Source: Tuyen Quang Electronic Newspaper

Tuyen Quang 1586 view

Rating : National monument

Open door

Tour See all

THE TRANS - VIETNAM TOUR 2025

11 DAY 10 NIGHT

Contact đ

See details

Dalat gong cultural exchange

Lam Dong

18:00 - 21:00

300,000 đ

See details

Dalat gong cultural exchange

Lam Dong

18:00 - 21:00

300,000 đ

See details

DA LAT SUBURBAN TOUR

Lam Dong

8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m

600,000 đ

See details

CONQUER LANGBIANG – CRAZY HOUSE – DATANLA FALLS

Lam Dong

8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m

500,000 đ

See details

Check in to HOT places in Da Lat

Lam Dong

8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m

600,000 đ

See details

Outstanding relic site

Tourist destination at Tuyen Quang